9:53 am EDT, June 11, 2015

J.K. Rowling helps out Robert Galbraith, unveils ‘Career of Evil’ cover and publication date

J.K. Rowling has revealed the cover of Career of Evil, the third novel in Robert Galbraith’s Cormoran Strike series. From Little Brown, we have the publication date and official synopsis.

Article Continues Below

Earlier this year, we learned that the third Cormoran Strike novel would be titled Career of Evil. And now we have the official cover art!

Rowling’s alternate self, Robert Galbraith, revealed another version of the cover:

And that’s not all! Publisher Little Brown had released both the official synopsis and publication date for Robert Galbraith’s new novel!

Career of Evil is set to be released in the U.K. on October 22, 2015, retailing £20 for the hardback, with the ebook priced at £10.99.

U.S. fans will get the book two days early, on October 20 (via Robert Galbraith’s Twitter).

The follow-up to last year’s The Silkworm will see Cormoran Strike solve yet another mysterious case.

The official synopsis for the novel reads:

When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman’s severed leg.

Her boss, private detective Cormoran Strike, is less surprised but no less alarmed. There are four people from his past who he thinks could be responsible – and Strike knows that any one of them is capable of sustained and unspeakable brutality.

With the police focusing on the one suspect Strike is increasingly sure is not the perpetrator, he and Robin take matters into their own hands, and delve into the dark and twisted worlds of the other three men. But as more horrendous acts occur, time is running out for the two of them…

Career of Evil is the third in the highly acclaimed series featuring private detective Cormoran Strike and his assistant Robin Ellacott. A fiendishly clever mystery with unexpected twists around every corner, it is also a gripping story of a man and a woman at a crossroads in their personal and professional lives.

Rowling’s first novel under the Robert Galbraith pseudonym, The Cuckoo’s Calling, was published in 2013.

Her first post-Harry Potter series has been received well by fans and critics alike.

Related: J.K. Rowling’s Cormoran Strike novels to be adapted for television by BBC

By all accounts, Career of Evil will not be the last in the series. Rowling has previously stated that she has plans for many more Cormoran Strike novels.

Will you be picking up the third Cormoran Strike novel ‘Career of Evil’?

We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
Write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

The Hypable App

Free for iOS and Android

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android