1:15 pm EST, March 2, 2015

‘Insurgent’ soundtrack features M83 and Imagine Dragons, first song released

By Andrew Sims | Edited by Donya Abramo

The soundtrack for the upcoming Divergent sequel Insurgent has been released – and it includes less songs than you’d expect.

The Insurgent soundtrack includes just eight songs, and one of them is a piece from the film’s theatrical score by Joseph Trapanese.

M83 and Haim worked together for a new song called “Holes in the Sky,” while Imagine Dragons is contributing a song titled “Warriors”. Unlike “Holes,” “Warriors” is not new – it was recorded for the League of Legends 2014 World Championship.

The soundtrack’s lineup is as follows:

1) M83: “Holes in the Sky” [ft. Haim]
2) Royal Blood: “Blood Hands”
3) Woodkid: “Never Let You Down” [ft. Lykke Li]
4) Anna Calvi: “The Heart of You”
5) Zella Day: “Sacrifice”
6) SOHN: “Carry Me Home”
7) Imagine Dragons: “Warriors”
8) Joseph Trapanese: “Convergence Score from Insurgent”

The first single from the Insurgent soundtrack, M83 and Haim’s “Holes in the Sky” was released today. Listen to the slow burner below. I really like it!

Here’s the previously released “Warriors” from Imagine Dragons:

Last year’s Divergent soundtrack featured artists including Ellie Goulding, Zedd, Snow Patrol, M83, Skrillex, and A$AP Rocky, clocking in at 16 tracks. The studio appears to be taking a low-key path for the second installment in the series.

Insurgent opens in theaters March 20.

What do you think of ‘Holes in the Sky’?

Related: Veronica Roth announces new two-part series “in the vein of Star Wars”

We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
Why not write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android