11:00 am EDT, October 5, 2015

‘Sword of Summer’ book review: Perfect for ‘Percy Jackson’ fans

The first book in Rick Riordan’s new series Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, titled The Sword of Summer, is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson.

sword of summer cover

Magnus Chase knows hardship. He’s lived on the streets of Boston for the last two years, ever since his mother was attacked by a terrible beast. It hasn’t been smooth sailing, but he’s gotten used to going unnoticed.

So when someone comes looking for him, he gets a bad feeling about it. His Uncle Randolph, someone his mother warned him about, tells him he has a birthright to the weapon called the Sword of Summer. And Asgard, Odin, and the Tree of Life? All real.

Ragnarök is right around the corner, and Magnus finds himself in the middle of the legendary event. Too bad he had to die to get there.

‘Sword of Summer’ book review

Riordan’s newest series, Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, is a perfect fit for those who fell in love with the story of Percy Jackson. If you were lucky enough to discover the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series when you were Percy’s age, the darker, more mature story of Magnus Chase’s origins will be a welcome change now that you’ve grown up.

And if you were quite a bit older when you found Percy Jackson (like this writer), the grittier story that deals with deeper and more dangerous issues is certainly appreciated.

But that’s not to say Magnus Chase isn’t a hilarious narrator. He could certainly give Percy a run for his money, and the black humor fits in perfectly with Magnus’ dire circumstances. The witty chapter titles are back once again (huzzah!), and they do not disappoint. Magnus is, without a doubt, the best narrator since Percy himself.

magnus chase nine realms

Of course, one of the major pulls of any Rick Riordan book is the mythology. In Sword of Summer, Riordan makes the lesser known Norse mythology as attainable and interesting as any Greek myth he’s ever talked about. The gods are just as hilarious, ornery, lively, and vengeful as ever, and their stories continue to entwine the lives of mortals and immortals alike.

Regarding Magnus’ last name and his relation to one Annabeth Chase, there is more than just a moment’s encounter between the two demigods. Don’t expect their joined story to come to an easy conclusion, but perhaps that’s for the best. After all, the more Annabeth, the better.

All in all, Sword of Summer is an excellent first installment in what already feels like a classic Rick Riordan series. The battle might’ve been won, but the war is inevitable. What Magnus Chase decides to do next could change the course of all nine worlds.

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan will hit store shelves tomorrow, October 6, 2015. Add it to your Goodreads list, or purchase it on Amazon, IndieBound, or anywhere books are sold. And don’t forget you can pick up several different exclusive editions, each offering special bonus material.

What did you think of ‘The Sword of Summer’ by Rick Riordan?

We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
Why not write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android