10:45 am EDT, May 6, 2015

Read an excerpt from ‘Dark Tide’

Dark Tide is the third novel in the Waterfire Saga and we have an exclusive look a the cover and prologue.

The Waterfire Saga follows the fate of six mermaids as they discover who they are and what powers they hold. The story begins with Deep Blue and the action really picks up in Rogue Wave.

Just because these novels are set undersea doesn’t mean they are your typical mermaid story. Serafina, Neela, Becca, Ava, Ling, and Astrid are on a quest to discover who they truly are and to protect their homes from an ancient evil.

Check out our exclusive first look at the cover of Dark Tide:


The beauty of this world lies in the diversity of characters and richness of detail. The mermaids come from all over the world representing different cultures in a unique way that invites the reader in to explore with the characters.

Prologue for ‘Dark Tide’

About ‘Dark Tide’

In Book 3 of the epic saga about six mermaids, Astrid struggles with a devastating personal secret while Becca tries to figure out how to extract her talisman from a killer whirlpool. Ling must find a way to escape the prison where she and hundreds of other merfolk are being forced to do slave labor.

Once a lost and confused princess, Serafina is now a confident leader of the Black Fin Resistance (BFR). While she works on sabotaging her enemy and enlisting allies for battle, her friends face challenges of their own. Ling is in the hold of Rafe Mfeme’s giant trawler, on her way to a prison camp. Becca meets up with Astrid and learns why the Ondalinian mermaid is always so angry: she is hiding a shameful secret. Ava can’t return home, because death riders await her arrival. It is getting more and more difficult for Mahdi, Serafina’s betrothed, to keep up the ruse that he is in love with Lucia Volerno. If Lucia’s parents become suspicious, his life — and all of Sera’s hopes — will be extinguished. Political intrigue, dangerous liaisons, and spine-tingling suspense swirl like a maelstrom in this penultimate book in the WaterFire saga.

About the author

Jennifer Donnelly is an award-winning author of both adult and young adult books, including Deep Blue and Rogue Wave, the first two books in the Waterfire Saga. For adults she has written a trilogy of best-selling books that includes The Tea Rose, The Winter Rose, and The Wild Rose. Her first young adult novel, A Northern Light, received many accolades, among them the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Carnegie Medal in the U.K., and a Michael L. Printz Honor. Her second young adult novel, Revolution, was named a Best Book of 2010 by Kirkus Reviews and School Library Journal, and the audiobook received a 2011 American Library Association Odyssey Honor. She lives in New York’s Hudson Valley. For more information, visit her website.

We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
Why not write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android