11:00 am EST, November 13, 2017

‘Defiant Queen’ by Meghan March book review: Readers won’t be able to get enough of Mount and Keira

Defiant Queen by Meghan March is the second book in the Mount Trilogy, and really ups the ante in both danger and romance – in the best way!

Related: Ruthless King book review: Meghan March seduces readers with this dark romance set in New Orleans

About ‘Defiant Queen’ by Meghan March:

I’m his entertainment. His toy. Payment on a debt.
I tell myself I hate him, but every time he walks into the room, my body betrays me. How can I want him and fear him in the same moment?
They told me he’d mess with my head. Make it go to war with my body.
But I didn’t realize it would be complete anarchy.
I should’ve known better. When Mount’s involved, there are no rules.
I will not surrender. I will not show weakness. I’ll stand my ground and make it out of this bargain with my heart and soul intact.
But he has other plans . . .

Defiant Queen is the second book of the Mount Trilogy. Mount and Keira’s story concludes in Sinful Empire.

‘Defiant Queen’ by Meghan March review:

Defiant Queen is the second book in the Mount Trilogy, and is every bit as addicting and amazing as the first! Even though I loved this book, I will say that it felt quite different from the first book.

Readers learn more about Mount, especially his past, which gives more insight to the man he is now. Mount becomes less of a mystery and enigma, but allows the readers to go from lusting after him to loving him. The same goes for Keira, the more she learns about Mount the harder it is for her to hate him.

At the same time, something in Mount is changing. Being with Keira is altering his way of thinking, whether he likes it or not. Instead of wanting to just use her, he’s starting to see her as a permanent fixture in his life. Wooing women isn’t something he’s ever had to do before, so it’s a struggle for him to change his own ways.

Article Continues Below

“She held herself like a queen. Like a woman who could handle the intensity of the kind that I have declared myself to be.”

There’s a constant battle of wills between the two throughout the novel. Although Keira seems to have come to terms with her attraction to Mount, she’s still having a hard time dealing with his dominating nature. Part of her is drawn to that side of him, but the other part of her still wants maintain her stubborn independence.

After Mount plans a surprise for Keira, and they get away from New Orleans, things shift even more between them. Keira begins to see how they could become something much more than their original agreement. Mount has everything she’s always wanted in a man, and yet his need to keep her untarnished from his sins means that he keeps his walls built up.

“We both ignore the continued knocking, and the subsequent phone ringing, in favor of devouring each other. For the first time, the power struggle doesn’t take precedence. This is something different. Something…more daunting.”

By the end of Defiant Queen, readers will be dying for more! I can’t get enough of this series, and love every page of Keira and Mount’s love story.

Note: Defiant Queen cannot be read as a standalone, you must read Ruthless King (Mount Trilogy, #1) first!

Defiant Queen by Meghan March will be released on November 14! Pre-order now from Amazon, iBooks, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, or Google Play. And don’t forget to add it to your Goodreads!

We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
Write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android