10:30 am EDT, March 6, 2014

Cover Reveal: ‘Perfected’ by Kate Jarvik Birch (giveaway)

Perfected by Kate Jarvik Birch takes an unusual look at genetic perfection. Also enter to win original artwork from the author.

Synopsis

Ever since the government passed legislation allowing people to be genetically engineered and raised as pets, the rich and powerful can own beautiful girls like sixteen-year-old Ella as companions. But when Ella moves in with her new masters and discovers the glamorous life she’s been promised isn’t at all what it seems, she’s forced to choose between a pampered existence full of gorgeous gowns and veiled threats, or seizing her chance at freedom with the boy she’s come to love, risking both of their lives in a daring escape no one will ever forget. For fans of Lauren Oliver’s Delirium and Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Garden series, Kate Jarvik Birch’s debut novel melds the feel of The Handmaid’s Talewith the historic underground railroad and wraps it in a glamorous — and dangerous — bow.

perfected final

Kate Jarvik Birch

Kate Jarvik Birch is a visual artist and writer living in Salt Lake City, Utah with her husband and three kids. She wrote her first novel in fourth grade (the main character was suspiciously similar to herself and the love interest bore quite a strong resemblance to the boy she had a crush on). As an adult, her essays and short stories have been published in Isotope: A Journal of Literary Nature and Science Writing, Saint Ann’s Review, Scissors and Spackle and Indiana Review. Kate’s art has been sold in stores like Pier 1, Target and World Market and has been used in feature films like 21 Jump Street and Looper as well as TV shows like Glee and Medium.

Kate’s debut novel, Deliver Me, comes out April 15 from Bloomsbury Spark. Perfected will be released July 1 from Entangled Teen.

Giveaway

Enter for a chance to win original artwork from the author.

KJBPERFECTEDart

a Rafflecopter giveaway

We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
Why not write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android