If you loved Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and can’t wait to watch Love, Simon, we’ve got eight other books that might just be to your liking, too.

Books to read if you can’t wait to watch ‘Love, Simon’

We couldn’t be more excited about the movie adaption of Becky Albertalli’s YA debut novel Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and we have rounded up the best coming of age stories to hold us over until it hits theatres. While you’re ordering your tickets for the Love, Simon premiere, pick up one (or all) of these new novels we think Simon would totally approve of.

Editor’s note: This article was compiled by a representative of SparkPoint Studio.

1. ‘The Midnights’ by Sarah Nicole Smetana

In Sarah Nicole Smetana’s coming of age novel, young Susannah Hayes is trying to make a name for herself after the death of her beloved rock star father. Following in his music making footsteps and doing her best to handle her grief, Susannah does what she can to find her place in a new town. Joining a band and finding a new crowd, Susannah begins to reinvent herself, but just as things begin to settle, she’ll realize that she’s not the only one who’s been keeping secrets from her new friends and her world as she knows it will threaten to fall apart once again.

2. ‘Speak No Evil’ by Uzodinma Iweala

In this new release from critically acclaimed author of Beasts of No Nations, two teenagers will become all too familiar with the cruelties of the world. Struggling to come out to his parents as a queer man, Niru keeps the secret from everyone but his best friend Meredith, who’s struggling with her own issues at home. When Niru’s father accidentally finds out about his son’s sexuality, the consequences are brutal and not even Meredith can soften the blow of the fallout. An honest and heartbreaking new novel, Speak No Evil will leave a definite impact on anyone who reads it.

3. ‘Just Like February’ by Deborah Batterman

Rachel loves her parents but with their constant fighting, she prefers to spend time with her adventurous uncle Jake, who entrusts her with two of his biggest secrets: Jake is gay and he’s terminally ill. In this coming of age novel, Rachel will come to realize the extent of homophobia and the damaging effects of the AIDS epidemic of the ’80s while dealing with her own curiosities about sexuality. A touching story about family and finding yourself, Just Like February will remind readers of the tumultuous secret Simon keeps from the people he loves.

4. ‘The Sparsholt Affair’ by Alan Hollinghurst

For fans of historical fiction, this is the book we recommend reading before going to see Love, Simon. Set in 1940, David Sparsholt has just arrived at Oxford with dreams of joining the Royal Air Force, but a new friendship with an enigmatic writer will change the course of his life forever. Battling with his romantic feelings toward his new friend and the strained relationship with his father, David has a lot to learn in this new novel, and when a scandal breaks out that involves the young pilot and his queer friend Evert, he’ll face unexpected and damaging consequences.

5. ‘The Frontman’ by Ron Bahar

A story of coming into yourself and finding your path in life, this debut fictionalized memoir from Ron Bahar is an entertaining and captivating read. The son of strict Israeli parents, Ron always had high expectations placed upon him, trying to find a balance between following his dreams and making his parents proud. But when Ron starts dating a non-Jewish girl and begins to pursue his dreams of being a musician, he’ll find that keeping his two worlds in check is harder than he thought. A journey through young adulthood, this new coming-of-age release tackles the fascinating world of sex, drugs and rock and roll, and all the ups and downs that come with chasing your dreams.

6. ‘People Like Us’ by Dana Mele

If you loved Thirteen Reasons Why, this is the book you’ll want to add to your #TBR pile. Kay Donovan seems to have it all and everyone at her private high school knows it, but in this psychological thriller, the death of one girl will forever change Kay’s view of the people she calls her friends. Finding a computer-coded scavenger hunt that was left to her from the murder victim, Kay will get caught up in an intense investigation she never saw coming. Full of twisted secrets, this thrilling page-turner will get your heart racing a little faster.

7. ‘The Last to Let Go’ by Amber Smith

Brooke Winters is determined to make her junior year of high school the best yet so she can move far away from the town and past that has her feeling trapped. When Brooke’s mother murders their abusive father, she’ll find that she and her siblings are suddenly on their own during her most transformative year. Having to navigate life without their parents, Brooke will have to accept the state of her family while simultaneously trying to find her place in the world. A coming of age story with a haunting twist, this book tells the hopeful story of a brave young girl’s journey to self-acceptance.

8. ‘The Beauty That Remains’ by Ashley Woodfolk

This debut YA novel takes readers into the lives of three teenagers who found their way to each other and inner peace through music. Autumn, Shay and Logan have always found solace in music, but when tragedy strikes, they’ll be forced to reevaluate their friendship and the entirety of their lives. Working through the grief that comes along with loss, these young music-lovers will find hope in the form of a new band who may be able to mend their broken hearts and faltering friendship. This touching YA read will hit you with all the major feels the way Becky Albertalli’s novel did.

‘Love, Simon’ hits theaters on March 16, 2018

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android