4:00 pm EDT, March 29, 2019

A complete Tesseract Timeline in the Marvel Cinematic Universe

The Tesseract made its return and played a significant role in Captain Marvel. If you’re having trouble keeping its prolific journey straight, we’ve put together a complete timeline of where in the Universe it has been.

With over a decade of movies in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, no other Infinity Stone has played such a pivotal role as the Space Stone, more commonly known as the Tesseract.

The Tesseract has had its influence on several storylines, acting as the catalyst for so many moments from Captain America: The First Avenger, to the first Avengers movie, all the way through to Captain Marvel.

Keeping a timeline of where — and when — the Tesseract has been is a daunting task, but we’ve done all the hard work for you. With Avengers: Endgame creeping up fast, and the Infinity Stones certain to play another huge part in the overall plot, revisiting the milestones of the Space Stone’s journey will likely prove to be important — especially if, as rumored, time travel will be involved.

Warning: Strong spoilers for Captain Marvel follow below.

The MCU’s Tesseract timeline

Dawn of the Universe: The Infinity Stones are created

The Cosmic Entities created the Infinity Stones from six singularities, including the Space Stone

Unknown Year, Agard: Odin acquires the Space Stone

Article Continues Below

At an unknown time, the Asgardians acquired the Space Stone, containing it within a vessel that would be known as the Tesseract. The Tesseract becomes the jewel of Odin’s vault.

Around 965 A.D, Norway: Tesseract left on Earth

Around 965 A.D. in Tønsberg, Norway, the Asgardians left the Tesseract on Earth. It fell under the care of the humans who worshipped the Asgardians as gods.

1942, Norway: Red Skull takes Tesseract

Hydra agent, Johann Schmidt — a.k.a Red Skull — takes the Tesseract from a church in Tønsberg, Norway. Arnim Zola unlocks its powers, and Hydra utilize it as a weapon.

1945, Arctic Ocean: Tesseract sinks into Arctic Ocean

Following a battle between Red Skull and Captain America over the Arctic Ocean, the Tesseract burns a hole through the floor of the Valkyrie and drops into the waters below. Captain America crashed the Valkyrie into the ocean shortly afterward, and was frozen in ice for 70 years.

Unknown Year, Arctic Ocean: Tesseract recovered from Arctic Ocean

During his search for Captain America, Howard Stark recovers the Tesseract from the floor of the Arctic Ocean. Stark then spends several years researching the cube.

1980s, Nevada: Project PEGASUS begins

The United States Airforce and NASA start a joint operation known as Project PEGASUS, after the Tesseract comes into the possession of the government. Dr. Wendy Lawson, a disguised Kree scientist, heads up the project, and attempts to use her research to create a lightspeed engine in order to end the Kree-Skrull war, and relocate refugee Skrull to a new home. At some point, Lawson relocates the Tesseract to her hidden research facility in Earth’s orbit.

1989, Nevada: Carol Danvers absorbs the Tesseract’s powers

Yon-Rogg, a Kree commander of Starforce, shoots down the test fighter plane flown by Carol Danvers and also carrying Lawson. The fighter was powered by the Tesseract’s energy. Yon-Rogg murders Lawson. Danvers destroys the fighter to keep the Tesseract’s power out of Yon-Rogg’s hands, and absorbs the energies into her body. Yon-Rogg abducts Danvers and takes her to the Kree homeworld Hala.

1995, Earth: Tesseract retrieved from research facility

After Carol Danvers crash lands on Earth, and discovers the truth about her past, she works with Nick Fury to retrieve the Tesseract from Lawson’s (a.k.a. Mar-Vell) research facility. Mar-Vell’s Flerken, Goose, swallows the Tesseract and stores it in a pocket dimension in its stomach.

1995, SHIELD: Tesseract enters SHIELD custody

The Tesseract is left in the care of SHIELD, via Nick Fury and Goose (who later regurgitates it), and Project PEGASUS is restarted.

2012: Mojave Desert: Loki steals the Tesseract

Loki, on behalf of Thanos, infiltrates a SHIELD facility in the Mojave Desert and steals the Tesseract.

2012, New York: The Avengers defeat Loki

The newly formed Avengers team defeats Loki in the Battle of New York. The Tesseract is taken by Thor back to Asgard, where it is reinstalled in Odin’s vault for safe keeping.

2017, Asgard: Loki steals the Tesseract… again

While summoning Surtur to bring about Ragnarok in order to stop Hela, Goddess of Death, Loki uncovers the Tesseract in Odin’s vault and takes it. Asgard is destroyed, but Loki escapes with the surviving Asgardians on a Sakaaran spaceship, the Statesman.

2018, Space: Thanos attacks the Statesman

In a bid to obtain all of the Infinity Stones, Thanos attacks the Statesman. Thanos kills Loki and half of the Asgardians on board, and crushes the Tesseract to reveal the Space Stone. He places the stone into the Infinity Gauntlet. It is later used alongside the other Infinity Stones to bring about the Decimation.

We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
Write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android