8:45 am EDT, July 23, 2020

Taylor Swift surprise announces eighth studio album ‘folklore,’ dropping Friday

Taylor Swift may be taking a required break from touring, but not from releasing new music. Her eighth studio album folklore drops on Friday!

The news will come as a complete surprise to Swifities, as the country artist turned pop superstar had kept this one under wraps until now.

Article Continues Below

“Most of the things I had planned this summer didn’t end up happening, but there is something I hadn’t planned on that DID happen,” Swift wrote on social media. She describes the album as entirely brand new and something she’s “poured all of [her] whims, dreams, fears, and musings into.”

“Before this year I probably would’ve overthought when to release this music at the ‘perfect’ time, but the times we’re living in keep reminding me that nothing is guaranteed. My gut is telling me that if you make something you love, you should just put it out into the world. That’s the side of uncertainty I can get on board with.”

folklore was co-written by Aaron Dessner, William Bowery, and frequent collaborator Jack Antonoff. Bon Iver also appears on one song which he co-wrote titled “exile”. The tracklist for folklore is below!

  1. the 1
  2. cardigan
  3. the last great american dynasty
  4. exile ft. Bon Iver
  5. my tears ricochet
  6. mirrorball
  7. seven
  8. august
  9. this is me trying
  10. illicit affairs
  11. invisible string
  12. mad woman
  13. epiphany
  14. betty
  15. peace
  16. hoax
  17. Bonus Track: the lakes
  18. View this post on Instagram

    folklore will have 16 songs on the standard edition, but the physical deluxe editions will include a bonus track called “the lakes.” Because this is my 8th studio album, I made 8 deluxe CD editions and 8 deluxe vinyl editions that are available for one week😄 Each deluxe edition has unique covers, photos, and artwork. Available exclusively at taylorswift.com

    A post shared by Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) on

    folklore begins streaming tomorrow, July 24th and is available for purchase everywhere. A music video for “cardigan,” which Swift says was shot safely, will also drop at that time. Finally, Swift is offering 8 different physical covers for her album on her official website in celebration of this being her eighth studio album.

    We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
    Write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

The Hypable App

Free for iOS and Android

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android