12:19 pm EST, November 6, 2014

‘Star Wars: Episode VII’ gets official title

After a long, long wait, Star Wars: Episode VII finally has an official title.

The official Star Wars Twitter account just dropped a big bomb: Star Wars: Episode VII will be subtitled The Force Awakens.

Here’s the tweet where they announced the title:

Article Continues Below

It’s curious that the title card says Star Wars: The Force Awakens and doesn’t include Episode VII. Every piece of official press regarding the film has called it Star Wars: Episode VII to this point, but maybe that’s because they weren’t ready to debut a title. It appears as if they are calling it Star Wars: The Force Awakens, completely doing away with putting the episode in the title. (This worked out pretty well for The Empire Strikes Back, so we aren’t too worried.)

The The Force Awakens title is of course very exciting. What does it mean? Star Wars: The Force Awakens will take place approximately 30 years after the events of Episode VI – The Return of the Jedi. Has something happened to the force since then? Or has the force suddenly become more powerful?

The tweet also includes the official announcement that filming has wrapped, but we already knew that. On Monday we brought you a letter that J.J. Abrams penned to his The Force Awakens cast and crew sent on completion of filming.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens includes new cast members John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Max von Sydow, Lupita Nyong’o, Gwendoline Christie, Christina Chong, Crystal Clarke, and Pip Andersen. Returning to the series are Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker.

What do you think of the title ‘Star Wars: – The Force Awakens’?

We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
Write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

The Hypable App

Free for iOS and Android

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android