10:00 am EDT, May 8, 2014

Disney to re-release ‘Lion King’ soundtrack with 30 minutes of new music

The Mouse House is gearing up to launch a new line of “Legacy Collection” soundtracks for its most beloved properties.

The Lion King will be the first soundtrack to debut under this new umbrella. Each of the Legacy Collection soundtracks will include “valuable documentary content that tells the story behind the music.” Each will have artwork designed by Walt Disney Animation Studios artist Lorelay Bove.

The Lion King Legacy Collection soundtrack boasts 30 minutes of music that haven’t been released until now. In the track list breakdown below there are several demos on disc 2 that we suspect make up the new material.

Disc One
1. “Circle of Life/Nants’ Ingonyama” Performed by Carmen Twillie, African Vocals Performed by Lebo
2. “Didn’t Your Mother Tell You Not to Play With Your Food” Score
3. “We Are All Connected” Score
4. “Hyenas in the Pride Land” Score
5. “I Just Can’t Wait to Be King” Performed by Jason Weaver with Rowan Atkinson and Laura Williams
6. “Elephant Graveyard” Score
7. “I Was Just Trying to Be Brave” Score
8. “Be Prepared” Performed by Jeremy Irons with Whoopi Goldberg, Cheech Marin and Jim Cummings
9. “Simba, It’s to Die For” Score
10. “Stampede” Score
11. “Mufasa Dies” Score
12. “If You Ever Come Back We’ll Kill You” Score
13. “Bowling for Buzzards” Score
14. “Hakuna Matata” Performed by Nathan Lane, Ernie Sabella with Jason Weaver and Joseph Williams
15. “We Gotta Bone to Pick With You” Score
16. “Kings of the Past” Score
17. “Nala, Is It Really You?” Score
18. “Can You Feel the Love Tonight” Performed by Joseph Williams and Sally Dworsky with Nathan Lane, Ernie Sabella and Kristle Edwards
19. “Remember Who You Are” Score
20. “This Is My Home” Score
21. “The Rightful King” Score

Disc Two
1. “The Morning Report” Performed by James Earl Jones, Jeff Bennett and Evan Saucedo
2. “Warthog Rhapsody” Performed by Nathan Lane and Ernie Sabella
3. “We Are All Connected” Score Demo
4. “I Was Just Trying to Be Brave” Score Demo
5. “Stampede” Score Demo
6. “Mufasa Dies” Score Demo
7. “This Is My Home” Score Demo
8. “The Rightful King” Score Demo
9. “Circle of Life” Instrumental Demo
10. “Circle of Life” Performed by Elton John
11. “I Just Can’t Wait to Be King” Performed by Elton John
12. “Can You Feel the Love Tonight” (End Title) Performed by Elton John

Pre-order the collection on Amazon now for $21.

Article Continues Below

Here’s the Legacy Collection line up over the next two years:
The Lion King, June 24, 2014
Mary Poppins, August 26, 2014
Sleeping Beauty, October 7, 2014
The Little Mermaid, November 17, 2014
Fantasia, January 3, 2015
Pinocchio, February 3, 2015
Toy Story, March 17, 2015
Disneyland, April 7, 2015
Lady and the Tramp, May 12, 2015
Pocahontas, June 23, 2015
The Aristocats, August 14, 2015
Cinderella, August 14, 2015

We hope that Disney will continue to add new films (or parks) to the collection, and that they all feature never-before-heard music. We’ll keep an eye on them!

We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
Why not write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android