10:15 am EST, February 24, 2014

J.K. Rowling may write up to 7 Cormoran Strike books

Some say that life works in circles. That seems the case for J.K. Rowling, because her newest series may repeat her first series in terms of book count.

According to a report from The Sunday Times – who was the first to break the news about Rowling operating under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith – the author has “mapped out” a plan for her detective series which runs over seven books.

Rowling’s Harry Potter series ran over seven books as well, each following one of the Boy Wizard’s years at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

Cormoran Strike is not a wizard attending a magical school, nor does there seem to be any clear arc in The Cuckoo’s Calling that would run over another six books. Rowling/Galbraith may have several smaller plot arcs that carry over the remaining stories.

Earlier this month Hypable was the first to report details about The Cuckoo’s Calling sequel The Silkworm which will hit book store shelves this June. Once again following Cormoran Strike and his assistant Robin, The Silkworm will detail their investigation into the death of an author.

“But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to [the author’s] disappearance than his wife realizes,” the synopsis says. “The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were to be published, it would ruin lives – meaning that there are a lot of people who might want him silenced.”

You can pre-order the book on Amazon.

Article Continues Below

Will you commit to a seven-part Cormoran Strike series?

Thanks, The Sunday Times.

We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
Write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android