1:30 pm EDT, September 24, 2012

J.K. Rowling on romance in fairytales: ‘You don’t have sex near unicorns’

Speaking to The New Yorker, Harry Potter and The Casual Vacancy author J.K. Rowling had some funny comments when asked about sex in her fantasy story.

The remarks came whilst speaking about moving beyond Harry Potter and taking on more adult story lines. “I had a lot of real-world material in me, believe you me,” Rowling said in a 10-page profile released yesterday. “The thing about fantasy—there are certain things you just don’t do in fantasy. You don’t have sex near unicorns. It’s an ironclad rule. It’s tacky. It’s not that I just wanted to write about people having sex.”

Of particular interest to die-hard Potter fans, Rowling also revealed a bit of canon: Dudley had two children as an adult. Up until now we were only aware that Dudley was a father.

Speaking of Potter, Minna Fry, former marketing director of Bloomsbury, spoke about the tease-ful marketing campaign associated with many of the books in the series. “We coined the phrase ‘denial marketing,'” she said, “The more people want, the less you give. We were extremely tantalizing – releasing little nuggets. If you were really lucky, you’d get the title!” It was part of what made the Harry Potter midnight release phenomenon such a success.

The profile continues with more information about The Casual Vacancy’s plot, so you may want to peruse the lengthy piece with caution.

Rowling’s first book since Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows hits store shelves this Thursday, Sept. 27. The worldwide on sale time is 8 AM GMT which is 3 AM ET and 12 AM PT. Visit our Casual Vacancy Hub to see a complete list of publicity events.

Article Continues Below

We want to hear your thoughts on this topic!
Write a comment below or submit an article to Hypable.

The Hypable App

Free for iOS and Android

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android