The Bram Stoker Awards are given yearly from The Horror Writers Association to writers who create exceptional works of horror.  The award is named for Bram Stoker, best known as the author of Dracula. The trophy resembles a miniature haunted house – quite fitting.

The awards cover both books and television.  Check out the list below!

Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL
Isis Unbound by Allyson Bird (Dark Regions Press)

Superior Achievement in a YOUNG ADULT NOVEL (tie)
The Screaming Season by Nancy Holder (Razorbill)
Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

Superior Achievement in a GRAPHIC NOVEL
Neonomicon by Alan Moore (Avatar Press)

Superior Achievement in LONG FICTION
“The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine” by Peter Straub (Conjunctions: 56)

Superior Achievement in SHORT FICTION
“Herman Wouk Is Still Alive” by Stephen King (The Atlantic Magazine, May 2011)

Superior Achievement in a SCREENPLAY
American Horror Story, episode 12: ‘Afterbirth’ by Jessica Sharzer (20th Century Fox Television)

To see a complete list visit

2018 is the year of the diverse superhero

Introducing the Hypable app

Free for iOS and Android