Kanye West’s reworking of Lorde’s “Yellow Flicker Beat” for Mockingjay, Part 1 has arrived.

When we first saw Kanye’s “Flicker” on the Mockingjay’s track list, we didn’t know what to think of it. Was it a completely new song? Was it a remix?

A couple additional details surfaced over the following days, and now we know for sure: Kanye’s “Flicker” is a slower, darker version of “Yellow Flicker Beat,” the first song off the soundtrack by Lorde.

Listen below:

For comparison’s sake, here’s the original version by Lorde which was released back in September (this is the recently-released music video):

So, what do you think? We really like this rework because it better fits the tone of Mockingjay, but our main question is why Lorde wanted to include a rework on the album the original song is already on. It feels a little confusing, especially since the two versions are a little similar.

Which version of ‘Flicker’ do you prefer?

Other songs that have dropped ahead of the soundtrack’s release include CHVRCHES’ “Dead Air” and The Chemical Brothers’ “This Is Not A Game”.

Here’s the soundtrack’s line up:

1. “Meltdown” (feat. Lorde, Pusha T, Q-Tip & HAIM) – Stromae
2. “Dead Air” – CHVRCHES
3. “Scream My Name” – Tove Lo
4. “Kingdom” (feat. Simon Le Bon) – Charli XCX
5. “All My Love″ (feat. Ariana Grande) – Major Lazer
6. “Lost Souls” – Raury
7. “Yellow Flicker Beat” – Lorde
8. “The Leap” – Tinashé
9. “Plan the Escape” – Bat for Lashes
10. “Original Beast” – Grace Jones
11. “Flicker” (Kanye West Rework) – Lorde
12. “Animal” – XOV
13. “This Is Not a Game” (feat. Miguel) – The Chemical Brothers
14. “Ladder Song” – Lorde

The soundtrack drops on November 17. Pre-order now!

(Note: The above artwork was poorly made by Hypable)

The News
The Podcasts

Hype is our flagship podcast talking all things fandom

Episode #149 – The Bragnargh

Hype Podcast talks the Black Panther and Coco trailers, the negative The Mummy reviews, Orange is the New Black and much more.

June 14, 2017
The Reviews