Kalifus Rising blends the humor and adventure of Red Sun with its own brand of high-stakes action.

About ‘Kalifus Rising’

Sam Baron just freed Orkney from the ravages of the Red Sun―but now, imprisoned by Catriona, leader of the Volgrim Witches, Sam finds the darker side of his half-god, half-witch heritage released, and he fears he might destroy what he saved. Unable to resist the witches’ enchantments, Sam has become their most potent weapon, and is leading an army of monstrous men against Skara Brae.

Sam’s only hope for salvation lies with his three best friends and a mystical artifact known as the Moon Pearl. Keely travels north in search of the pearl, while Howie prepares for the gathering onslaught. Leo seeks a powerful artifact in the underworld, and faces an ancient evil that could be an even greater threat than Catriona and her cronies.

As Sam’s friends rush to save him, other forces are at work in Orkney’s shadows―forces that could help free Sam, or condemn him to the darkness forever.

kalifus rising book cover small

‘Kalifus Rising’ book review

Kalifus Rising picks up not long after Red Sun finishes, and it’s immediately clear that although the end of the first book brought about a great victory for Sam and his friends, the consequences of his actions are weighing heavily on all of Orkney.

One of the main reasons why I enjoyed Red Sun so much was because I love mythology, and the second book in the Legends of Orkney series continues introducing us to new characters and new magical elements. The story builds on what the first book offered, while sending our heroes on a journey that seems even more treacherous and impossible than the last one.

I also fell in love with the side characters in the first novel, and nothing has changed in the sequel. Keely, Howie, and Leo continue to add humor and humanity to a world that is war-torn and grieving. Their presence in Orkney is not welcomed, but the trio finds strength and determination in Sam’s leadership.

And Sam needs them as much as they need him. As the magic swirling in his veins grows stronger, so does the pull to the dark side. His heart is true, but like us all, he has doubts — doubts about himself, doubts about Odin’s wisdom, and doubts that his friends care enough about him to risk their lives.

Kalifus Rising is as much about courageous loyalty and righteousness as it is about the subtler moments of confidence and love. How do you fight your destiny knowing you can save the world, even if it means giving up everything? And how do you fight the darkness inside of you knowing it’s as much a part of your person as your goodness is?

These are questions Sam and his friends must answer, and they are questions that readers of Kalifus Rising must confront as well. Could you be as strong as Sam, as brave as Keely, as steadfast as Leo, or as determined as Howie?

Alane Adams weaves powerful magic throughout the pages of Kalifus Rising, and any fan of Red Sun will be eager to continue the adventure in this sequel.

About the author

alane adams author photo

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon

Alane Adams is a social entrepreneur, philanthropist, professor, award-winning author and an avid literacy advocate. After spending decades balancing budgets for the family business, she founded the Rise Up Foundation focusing on global poverty issues and particularly their effect on children.

A Masters Degree in Diplomacy and several field visits with UNICEF later, Alane witnessed firsthand the importance of education and literacy in the battle to end extreme poverty and shifted the focus of her foundation to improving and supporting literacy efforts.

Her passion for literacy and children came together when her 12-year-old son Alex challenged her to write a book he could read. The Legends of Orkney book series was born and she hasn’t stopped writing since. The Red Sun and Kalifus Rising are the first two books in her Legends of Orkney middle grade book series.

In 2015, Alane teamed up with Artifact Technologies to create BattleKasters, a live-action adventure mobile game based on the Legends of Orkney book series. In addition, Alane created an award winning picture book series, which includes: The Coal Thief, The Egg Thief and The Santa Thief.

She is a proud member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, the International Reading Association, The Literacy Research Association, and the California Reading Association.

The News
The Podcasts

Hype is our flagship podcast talking all things fandom

The Reviews