• Like Us On Facebook
    • Like us on Facebook

  • +1 Us on Google
  • Follow Us On Facebook
  • Follow Us On Facebook
    • Follow us on tumblr.

  • Search

Black Stars and Nickelbackers, grab your skateboards and your guitars! Avril Lavigne has released a new song.

Avril Lavinge’s new song “Let Me Go” is a duet with her new husband Chad Kroeger (Nickelback’s lead singer), and it’s bound to create quite a buzz in the next few days. The song is Avril’s third single off her self-titled album arriving next month.

The song, a raw yet powerful rock ballad, has some amazing vocal arrangements from the pop-rock princess, and the addition of Chad’s remarkable talent gives the song a special flavor that fans from both fandoms will cherish. Avril has said “Let Me Go” is about “the journey of love in your life,” and it is the first song the lovebirds wrote together in the studio. The “Sk8er Boi” singer and the 38 year-old rocker met in late 2011, and started writing songs for Avril’s album. Since then, they became very close, and music finally led them to tie the knot earlier this year.

The ballad is part of a 13-track album which includes the existing singles “Here’s to Never Growing Up” and “Rock N Roll.”

What can we expect from her next record? Avril has said in recent weeks, “It’s really diverse. There’s summer songs, there’s ballads, there’s rock songs and then there’s pop-rock songs. Most new records are all like break up songs and about love and sh#t like that but this one isn’t. There’s different stuff going on, there’s a lot of storytelling. Some of the songs have a character in them. There’s a song called “Hello Kitty,” a song called “Seventeen,” that’s nostalgic. Oh and Marilyn Manson is on a song too.”

“Let Me Go” will be available on iTunes October 15th. Until then, you can listen to the full song on Avril’s VEVO channel:

Avril Lavigne will be released on November 5th, and it´s already available for pre-order on iTunes.

This article was written by a Hypable user! Learn more and write your own right here.

  • idaresayitsaj

    I’m actually surprised as to how good this is~

  • Sarah Lufkin

    i love it *____*

  • Sam

    Great song, cool article:))

  • Glaciusx

    I am soo not a Nickelback fan but that was actually pretty good.

  • Spencer

    This is the best decision she could of made for her third single leading up to the release of the album, out on Nov. 5th. This has full potential to smash on the charts, and hopefully it’ll do just that.

  • Monica

    I don’t see why people are bashing it, I think its pretty good

  • Mike Stark Karavakis

    Amazing Song. Hope to be a Hit.

  • Alex


    As a longtime Fan of Chad Kroeger– I feel vindicated that most everyone seems to really like this song.

  • TheletterA

    This is actually the first single from the album. Rock n Roll and Here’s To Never Growing Up were supposed to be the first two singles but after them flopping hard, Epic, Avril, and number of sources said they were just buzz singles and that Let Me Go is the official first single.

    • Tom

      When I wrote the article, HTNGU and RnR were still the 1st and 2nd singles :P . Neither Epic nor Avril have directly confirmed that LMG is the 1st single, but numerous sources, including the trustworthy site “ET Canada”, have stated this is the first single. Lets not forget ET was the first website that announced the album would be delayed until September, and later on, in November. Avril and Epic both kept in the shadows for a while until announcing any of that, so we can expect the same thing this time around. And I don’t blame them for wanting to do this: LMG is definetly the BEST song that has been released until now from this era, and RnR flopped HARD on charts.

Hypable encourages the community to use our Comments feature to hold thoughtful, polite, and critical discussions. We do NOT tolerate inappropriate, rude, or downright mean discussion towards the news story's subject matter or towards other Hypable users. We reserve the right to delete or ban comments and users who violate these guidelines.